DIY Shampoo + DIY Conditioner Recipe: How to Make Your Own Lavender Shampoo + Rosemary Conditioner

So… today’s homemade shampoo and conditioner recipes will shock you with their simplicity. So much so, that I am going to take a bit of space to share why it’s good to make your own shampoo and conditioner – and some of the benefits of taking care of your hair a little differently.

Here are the four biggest benefits I’ve experienced in making my own natural (and chemical-free) shampoo and conditioner:

  1. It’s safer for my and my family’s bodies.
    There is a lot of conflicting information out there about the chemicals (including petrochemicals) used in commercial beauty care products. Many have been eliminated in California, Canada, and the EU. My personal belief is that because decisions are often guided by profit in the US (and because there are conflicts of interest often inherent in the FDA approval process), we don’t know the full scope of the potential dangers of many of the ingredients commonly used in store-bought products. I follow a “better safe than sorry” motto; hence, the homemade, natural route. To learn more, I’d recommend checking out this, this, and this to start.
  2. It’s better for the environment.
    It only makes sense that chemicals that are potentially (or in some cases quite documentedly) bad for our bodies would be bad for our environment. When I think about the fact that every single thing I use in my home goes down our drains and into our collective water streams, soils, etc. – I feel much more impelled to make sure I’m not doing anything that might inadvertently harm you. It’s a sort of planetary stewardship and commitment to compassionate living… I want to look out for my family, friends, and loved ones.
  3. I save money.
    This is a big one. The cost-savings on making our personal care products has been tremendous. Like, HUGE. It’s so gratifying to be saving so much money while also feeling good about what we’re using in our home.
  4. I use less.
    One of the awesome (and for me, unexpected) benefits of using these particular recipes has been that I need to wash my hair much less often. I used to wash daily in order to avoid an oily look to my head and a sort of flat, lifeless buildup effect. Having used this shampoo and conditioner in combination for about 3 months now, I am able to wash my hair every 2 to 3 (and sometimes 4) days. It’s been fantastic!

DIY Shampoo + ConditionerI heartily encourage you to try both of these recipes (though be sure to use them in conjunction, as they work together to balance the pH in your hair). And feel free to poke around ye old web and see if there are other recipes out there you’d like to try. I’ve tried a few… and I keep coming back to these because they are so simple, effective, and cheap.

And just so you know: So far, I’ve used this on me (short, stick-straight, oily hair), my daughter (very long, wavy, thick, normal hair), and my dogs (both short-haired). It has worked perfectly for all of us… though my daughter doesn’t like how cold it feels on her head. We’re working on that. 😉  Hope you enjoy it too!

*   *   *

Homemade Lavender Shampoo + Rosemary ConditionerThe amounts I’ve used here ensure I don’t have to use a preservative. I go through this amount before there’s any danger of “spoiling” – and the inclusion of the essential oils adds a bit more antibacterial oomph as well. In addition, lavender is great for fighting dandruff… so including that in your shampoo also helps with dryness/itching! The rosemary is simply a scent I enjoy – but it also works well with the natural scent of the apple cider vinegar to make for a more enjoyable olfactory experience overall.

Homemade Lavender Baking Soda Shampoo

2 cups water (I like to boil it and then let it cool)
2 Tbsp baking soda
2-3 Tbsp cornstarch
15-20 drops lavender essential oil

  • Combine the water and baking soda together in something with a pour spout. Stir well.
  • Add in the cornstarch, 1 tablespoon at a time, until the mix thickens up just a bit. You don’t want to make it too thick… but I have found that adding a bit of cornstarch definitely helps me target areas of my head better when applying.
  • Add essential oil and stir once more. Transfer to container of your choice. (I kept some old plastic bottles from a store-bought brands and use those for each batch!)

Homemade Rosemary Apple Cider Conditioner

2 cups water (boiled and cooled)
2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
15-20 drops rosemary essential oil

  • Combine the water, apple cider vinegar, and essential oil in a container with a good pour spout.
  • Mix well and then transfer to the container of your preference. (Recycled plastic bottles from your “old” products work great!)
One response to “DIY Shampoo + DIY Conditioner Recipe: How to Make Your Own Lavender Shampoo + Rosemary Conditioner

  1. Pingback: How to Clean (Almost) Everything in Your Home with Vinegar and Baking Soda | Do It Now + Green

Leave a Reply

