Delicious Homemade Sausage Recipe (that just happens to be vegan!)

dec1_2013 011Okay. I know what you’re thinking. I really do. Meatless sausage is sort of an odd concept: ironic at best and oxymoronic at worst. But I promise you, these patties will make you a believer. A meatless *gasp* vegan sausage convert. Honest.

I found the original recipe at Hell Yeah It’s Vegan! (Awesome site, btw.) The flavoring was not quite what we were looking for, so I did a bit of tweaking to end up with something that matched our “sausage tastes,” and it has now become one of those staples I make nearly every week (they freeze beautifully).

These are great on their own, or substituted into recipes that call for a traditional pork sausage (such as biscuits and gravy, sausage-cornbread stuffing with toasted pecans, or homemade calzones). Hope you enjoy them!

*    *    *

You may not readily have some of these ingredients in your pantry. If not, don’t panic. Most of them (like the textured vegetable protein, oat bran, and nutritional yeast) are easy to find in bulk at Whole Foods, Co-Ops, or similar healthfood-type stores. I tend to buy roughly 2 cups at a time and store them in recycled glass jars in my pantry.

1/2 cup textured vegetable protein (tvp)
1/2 cup boiling water
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup oat bran
1 Tbsp nutritional yeast
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp onion powder
1/2 tsp sage
1/2 tsp rosemary
1/4 tsp black pepper
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
1/4 cup vegetable broth (or water in a pinch)
1/2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
3 Tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp maple syrup
1/4 tsp molasses
Your favorite high-heat oil, for frying

  • Combine the tvp and boiling water in a small bowl or pyrex measuring cup. Stir and set aside for 5 min.
  • Put the rest of the dry ingredients in a medium to large bowl, stirring gently to combine.
  • Make a well in center of your dry ingredients and add all the wet ingredients (save the oil). Stir well, adding the tvp mixture once the 5 min are up.
  • Shape into patties and fry in hot oil over medium-high heat, approximately 2-3 min per side. Drain on paper towels and serve immediately.
  • Patties can be refrigerated for up to a week or frozen for up to 6 months. To reheat frozen patties, place on a microwave safe dish and cover with a wet paper towel. Microwave on high 1 min (for 2 patties) to 1 min 30 seconds (for 4).
3 responses to “Delicious Homemade Sausage Recipe (that just happens to be vegan!)

  1. OK, there are many ingredients here, but to my surprise I think that I have most of them. My talents in the kitchen are limited, however, and the step that I expect to be challenging is “Shape into patties.” My one attempt at making falafel fell apart (literally) at this step. Any tips?

    • You betcha! I like to use a spoon to scoop out the dough/mix/whatever gunk you are using. Then I use my hands to make a ball (or if it came out in a ball-like shape on the spoon I just count myself lucky and leave it). Carefully move that ball into your hot pan and smash down with your hand or the back of your spoon. There is a bit of carefulness to this because it’s all sticky… but it tends to work well in keeping the patty together. (I also don’t fret if it’s not a perfect circle. Some of my patties look more blotch-like than round… but it doesn’t affect how they taste!) Hope this helps!! xoxoxox

  2. Pingback: 5 Green + Easy Resolutions for the New Year | Do It Now + Green

Leave a Reply

