DIY Foaming Hand Soap: Natural Peppermint-Lavender-Lemon Foaming Hand Soap

foaming_hand_soap3I don’t know why I never questioned whether or not I could make hand soap. I suppose because I thought soap-making was too difficult and that the products out there that are labeled “green” were adequately safe.

After scouring through EWG’s Skin Deep database, I decided it was going to be cheaper, safer, and better for the planet for me to make my own. Nice that all those things happened to align!

This recipe is so simple and effective, I will never go back to buying hand soap again. Truly never. It’s softer than the store-bought brands, smells amazing, and is quick and painless to throw together.

I encourage you to try and it and see what you think. It’s become one of my favorite DIY projects so far.

*    *    *

As with the DIY face wash, it’s helpful to have glycerin on hand for this one. You can use any scent combination you’d like, depending on the essential oils you’ve got stocked. We always start with peppermint as our base, since the Dr. Bronner’s Organic Peppermint Liquid Castile Soap is the one I can find most easily (and most cheaply) in our area. Lemon has natural antibacterial properties, as does lavender, and rosemary is such a lovely scent – it has a natural “wake-you-up” sort of effect.

empty foaming hand soap container (easiest thing is to recycle one!)
1 cup water (boiled and cooled)
1/4 cup liquid castile soap
1 tsp vegetable glycerin
15-30 drops essential oil (I like NOW Foods, but you can use any brand)

  • In a large glass measuring cup (or any vessel of your choice, really), combine the water, castile soap, and glycerin. Stir.
  • Add 15 drops lemon essential oil and 15 drops rosemary essential oil. (If you’re using teaspoons rather than pipettes, 15 drops is 1/4 tsp.)
  • Stir once more, then transfer to foaming hand soap container. Give a good shake, and you’re done!
3 responses to “DIY Foaming Hand Soap: Natural Peppermint-Lavender-Lemon Foaming Hand Soap

  1. I totally want to make this!

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

  2. Pingback: 5 Green + Easy Resolutions for the New Year | Do It Now + Green

Leave a Reply

